Need some new IG captions: Poetry and Prose 101

As corny as it sounds, everybody looks for the most creative and unusual Instagram captions that more often than not have nothing to do with the picture to which it is attached. By sneaking you a peek of my favorite prose and poetry books, and excepts from them, I am cheesily attempting to get to you to read some of my favorite works and fall head over heels in love with words like I have. In this list are my top favorite poetry books, their authors, and a snippet from my favorite work from each book that you could even use as a IG caption.  Happy caption hunting, May the words be ever in your favor.

IMG_0511.PNGNeon Soul, By Alexandra Elle

“the hardest thing about unlearning is letting go of what you thought you knew.”

“You are not foolish for falling, how else will you learn to fly?”

Milk and Honey, By rupi kaur

“I am not the whiskey you want, I am the water you need. Don’t come here with expectations and try to make a vacation out of me “

“Stay I whispered, as you shut the door behind you.”

 

I Wrote This For You, By Pleasefindthis (Iain S. Thomas)

“Your art is not about how many people like your work your art is about if your heart likes your work”

“Forget the air, I’ll breathe you instead.”

Bone, By Yrsa Daley-Ward

“If you’re afraid to write it, thats a good sign. I suppose you know your writing the truth when you’re terrified.” 

“Loving someone who hates themselves is a special kind of violence. A fight inside the bones, a war within the blood.”

Salt, By Nayyirah Waheed

“Can we speak in flowers? It will be easier for me to understand.”

“It was I who held you when you wanted someone else.”

IMG_0512.PNGSoft Magic, By Upile Chisala

“I am dripping melanin and honey, I am black without apology”

“It is when we don’t believe we are enough ourselves that we start looking for people” 

Njma, By Nayyirah Waheed

“the fire, thats not where i burn from.”

“just for tonight. just for tonight, be the tenderest thing in the universe.”

Nectar, By Upile ChisalaIMG_0513.PNG

“I do not scrape for pieces of love, I will not beg men to stay, I am alright with being fire.”

“There is danger in letting people misname you. If you are fire, don’t answer when they call you a spark.”

I love, My Love, By Reyna Biddy

“Forgive me for giving you so much power over me. you were never worthy.” 

“My memory loves you, it asks about you all the time.”

Teaching My Mother How to Give birth, By Warsan Shire

“I have my mother’s mouth and my father’s eyes. On my face they are still together.”

“no might make then angry but it will make you free. If no-one ever told you your freedom is more important than their anger.”

I KNOW you got something out of that because I just snatched all my edges back. I’m SHOOK.

BYE.

 

Leave a Reply

