You’re Beautiful for a Black Girl: Microaggressions 101

In a world where people are being judged for being too (insert anything here). Where is the line between questioning and disrespecting? How do you tell people when they’ve gone too far? Millennials aren’t like Baby Boomers; with them you can catch anything from mononucleosis to these hands and using microaggressions is the quickest way to catch the latter.

Microaggressions are defined by Columbia professor David Sue as “a statement, action, or incident regarded as an instance of indirect, subtle, or unintentional discrimination against members of a marginalized group such as a racial or ethnic minority.”

Below is a list of microsagressions developed from my personal experience and the research I have done on microaggressions:

“You’re so articulate”

“You must be here for a sports scholarship huh?

Screen Shot 2017-02-08 at 4.50.57 PM.png

“I’m blacker than you are”

“You’re so sassy” *when giving an opposing opinion

“When I look at you I don’t see color”

“There’s only one race, and that’s the human one”

“I’m not racist, I have several black friends”

“Racism doesn’t exist, if you work hard enough everyone will succeed”

“That’s so black of you”

“You talk whiter than me”

“You’re just an oreo”

Joking calling you the most “ghetto” name they can think of

“You’re name is too difficult to say, I’m just going to call you by a nickname.”

“You’re ethnically ambiguous.”

Screen Shot 2017-02-08 at 4.51.39 PM.png

“That’s gay.”

Anything that starts with “you people…”

“You must be here to fit some sort of diversity quota or something”

“You like white guys/girls? You must have some jungle fever”

“You talk like that forreal? You must have some white in you”

 

“Can I touch your hair? How often do you have to wash that?”

“You must be one of “those string independent, don’t need no man” types”

My all-time favorites:

“You’re beautiful for a black girl”

“You’re so pretty, are you mixed with something?”

Referring to white and non-black women as “girls” and “women” while calling Black women “Females”

Screen Shot 2017-02-08 at 4.51.07 PM.png

Im sure there are plenty more of these floating around. Alas, Remember don’t ever let your crown tilt or your wand dim. It is not your job to educate the ignorant on how not to be disrespectful. You let people know how to treat you by how you treat yourself.

And Micoraggressors I’ll leave you with:

Don’t let your words get you clacked up.

Sincerely,

These Hands

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Chiquita says:

    I love this blog!!!!! I so look forward to it

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jamal Myrick says:

    This is a real thing out here. I know that microaggressions are common with people of color, yet I believe Black women receive them so much more and still continue to press on. I feel that I reaffirm my Black female mentees often when they tell me about their experiences and also tell them to let those hands go if needed (sometimes intellectually and other times physically). I enjoyed reading this and will pass this along to them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

